Skip to content

Judgement Day!

June 30, 2010

Today at 11:01 PM the free agency bonanza begins.  Where will Lebron sign?  Who will go with him?  Will the Bulls get the 2 big time free agents they desire?  Why is Paul Pierce declaring for free agency?  What happened at the “summit” between Lebron, Wade, and Bosh?  Where is Arnold Schwarzenegger when you need him?

So who goes where and is this really as important as the press has made it out to be?
If you haven’t seen it there’s a 22 minute “summit” of sports casters on ESPN.com.  It’s the PTI gang of Wilbon and Kornheiser and then a couple of other guys.  It’s pretty boring but if you want to know EVER DAMN SCENARIO then watch it.  Otherwise here’s my 2 cents on this whole thing.

I’ve already said that I think Chris Bosh and Joe Johnson should come to the Bulls.  That’s who I think will come and that’s who I want to come.  But I’d be happy with Wade and/or Lebron in one of those 2 places.   Instead of just posting what I think will happen or what I wish will happen I’m just going to say that I think this media bonanza is RIDICULOUS!

Yes this is the biggest free agent class EVER.   Yes it’s got the back-to-back MVP in it.  Yes it’s got the 3 biggest markets in the country involved.  Yes it will shape and define the NBA for the next 5 years.  But is it worth all the attention it’s been getting.  I mean it’s only basketball.  Just because you sign a big time free agent doesn’t mean your going to win a championship.  Lebron had the best team in the league in Cleveland last year and he got bounced from the playoffs AGAIN!

This will go on for weeks until Lebron, Wade, Bosh, and all the rest of the free agents sign.  I’m already annoyed with it.  Now if some of the crazy trades that are rumored to go down actually happen and you get a team featuring Wade, Lebron, and Bosh then yeah, that’s a big fucking deal.  But I don’t see that happening.  No team has that kind of cash.  You’d have a total of $10 for the rest of the team.

Unless that happens then all this media attention has been overkill and a waste of time.  I’m sick of it and I want it to stop NOW.  Here’s hoping all these guys sign tonight at 11:01 so I only have to hear about it for another couple of days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

